THE POETS VOICE:

I WILL TRY TO FORGET:

By ORDIA Akello

The day we first lay our eyes on each other,

The time and the date

Details still linger, but I will try to forget.

The day you asked for my number,

The words and your expressions,

So deeply set, but I will try to forget.

The way you always held my hand,

And lay it softly to your chest,

I remember every heartbeat, but I will try to forget.

The glances you stole,

With eyes so tender,

They glistened you know, but I will try to forget.

The nights and the days,

I longed for and loved you so

They were so close together, but I will try to forget.

Yes I will try to forget,

The sweet stories and the plans

Your laughter and your eyes

And the sweet nothings you told

My heart says not yet

It still wants to cling

To the memories of yore, however much I try to forget.

But I know I must forget, that it all ever happened

Hard as it may seem to assume we had never been

I know, oh how I know, I must forget.

Leave a Reply

