THE POETS VOICE

COLD HOPE

By Sydney Mukidi

The shuffle of late feet

Rouse me from my troubled nap

My only dear rags devoid of heart

Touch my skin with a faint lap

Sun rays so sweet

Faintly reach my belly fed of crap

My bonny frame feels weak

My rusty joints resist motion

Rumbles in my belly at peak

Call for immediate action

Inside the bins I desperately seek

As I trek to my begging station

As right as the rain

I know my future is bright

As I go through endless pain

Luck will take over plight

On the runway I speedily gain

And with hope I’ll take flight

Leave a Reply

