The C Word

By ORDIA Okello

From where I come, it is usually said that duong’ losoji, which if I loosely translate to the chagrin of a course I partook of in the last semester means, ‘bigness makes people’. Hey, I know do not judge me, 9 months is a long time, long enough for some of my brain cells to degenerate and so I am justified! Anyway, I will try to recollect and put it in more simpler and understandable terms to mean, with time comes maturity, although this is not generally true for human populace, but that is a story for another day.

To put it into context, how many of us out there are always sooo enthusiastic during church sermons or workshops and seminars where the main theme or topic is empowerment? Ok, I know for some, the ones you were pushed to go to during your mid years in High school might have been most traumatizing but think about the ones you attended while you were a mono-I guess orientation with the VChere in Moi might count- and the ones you had during your time as a senior. Oh how the halls oozed with pizzazz and zing when the speaker got to the climax, those Ah Ha moments and how you scribbled every single word that came from the speaker. Finally, when the normally big sized speaker walked from the podium to his seat while wiping sweat from his drenched face after delivering his keynote speech, you would have that ‘kaminute’ with yourself. That minute of enlightening, then you have an epiphany of how you have definitely been doing everything wrong and that things need to change. And change you do, but just for a second. You know that thing they say about doors and how they have the ability to make one forget once they walk through it, that’s what happened to me and honestly happens to many of us once we walk out of these talks

Therefore, for a long time for me, my pizzazz would eventually turn to pizzatt after every sitting and after a while I thought it useless to go for them. After all, what was the use? They never even help, ‘hazinichange,’ I would tell myself but now I know better. The problem was not the talks, the problem was me and as long as I had this kiddish attitude I was not going to progress in any way. Children are more likely to go to a place they know they will have fun and get out with goodies. Many at times we adopt this attitude and unless that speaker cracks us up and tells us what we want to hear, we have no business being there. You attend a seminar where the speaker, condemns what you like most and compares and contrasts a lot, it is most likely you will never go back the next time he is in town, neither will you recommend him to someone. Truth is when we refuse reproach or calls for change, we degenerate as humans, which is quite sad.

The realization of all this, however, takes time, and once we do we are able to progress instead of moving in circles like the proverbial dog who chases its tail. That dog has to realize that he might just be able to catch his tail if he stops going round in circles and does something different, maybe sit down or stand still. Of course it won’t be fun for you watching it and for it too. I’m sure it’ll get fed up and choose to do something else. It will definitely save it a lot of energy too. That is the point of it all, change is good. However, it takes a lot of time and courage to do so, but at the end of it all, it should always be progressive so that it unlocks the power of appreciation in you. It may take time but it is only with time that the sweetest wine mature.

Leave a Reply

